Reimbursement Advisor

Alert! The 2011 ICD-9 code set is already in force

Author and Disclosure Information

Among the changes that have arrived are codes to improve the specificity of what you provide to payers—including characterizations of multiple gestations and distinctions in uterine, vaginal, and cervical anomalies


This year, ObGyn-related additions and revisions to the International Classification of Diseases, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM), involve tinkering with existing codes and adding some new code categories. The latter development means that more information will be required of you to code to the highest level of specificity.

On the obstetrics side, there are now specific codes for placental status for multiple gestations and some revised terminology.

In gynecology, changes include new codes for congenital anomalies of the cervix, vagina, and uterus; reporting an expanded list of a history of dysplasia; and reporting the insertion and removal of an intrauterine device for contraception.

In addition, new codes have been established for fecal incontinence and for reporting a body mass index >40.

Last, changes to the alphabetical index of codes have been put in place that will help you select the most appropriate code.

The new and revised ICD-9-CM codes were added to the national code set on October 1, 2010. As in previous years, there is no grace period for failing to use the new code set!

Changes to obstetric codes


Multiple-gestation pregnancies are classified as monochorionic/monoamniotic, monochorionic/diamniotic, and dichorionic/diamniotic. Until now, however, you’ve had no way to report this additional information to a payer.

For fiscal year 2011, you are able to be more specific, which can increase your ability to report medical support care for a higher-risk pregnancy or an expanded treatment plan.

Because the current category of multiple-gestation codes (651) did not allow for expansion to include this information, a new code category, V91 (multiple gestation placenta status), was created for that purpose. The V91 category has distinct codes for twin gestation, triplet gestation, quadruplet gestation, and other “unspecified” gestations to denote placental/amniotic sac status.

Be aware that use of the V91 codes is optional, and that they can be reported only as a secondary diagnosis, with a category 651.xx (multiple gestation, etc.) code as primary. As I noted, however, the new codes may provide better information to the payer—and that might result in additional reimbursement for your care of such pregnancies.

The new codes for a twin pregnancy are:

V91.00 Twin gestation, unspecified number of placentae, unspecified number of amniotic sacs

V91.01 Twin gestation, monochorionic/monoamniotic (one placenta, one amniotic sac)

V91.02 Twin gestation, monochorionic/diamniotic (one placenta, two amniotic sacs)

V91.03 Twin gestation, dichorionic/diamniotic (two placentae, two amniotic sacs)

V91.09 Twin gestation, unable to determine number of placentae and number of amniotic sacs

There are similar V codes for triplet gestations (V91.10–V91.19), quadruplet gestations (V91.20–V91.29), and other unspecified multiple gestations (V91.91– V91.99).


The term “habitual aborter” has been replaced for 2011 with the more clinically accurate term “recurrent pregnancy loss.” This change is noted in both the ICD-9 alphabetical index and in the code definitions in the tabular section. The codes affected by this terminology change are:

629.81 Recurrent pregnancy loss without current pregnancy

646.3x Recurrent pregnancy loss (affecting the current pregnancy)


These OB changes took effect on October 1, 2010:

  • Periurethral trauma should be reported using 664.8x (other specified trauma to perineum and vulva), not 665.5x (other injury to pelvic organs).
  • If you report puerperal sepsis (670.2x), you must report an additional code to identify severe sepsis (995.92) and any associated acute organ dysfunction, if applicable.
  • If your diagnosis is superficial thrombosis (671.2x), an additional code—either 453.6, 453.71, or 453.81—should be reported to further explain the type of thrombophlebitis.
  • If your patient has either asymptomatic, inactive, or a history of genital herpes that is complicating her current pregnancy, report 647.6x (other viral diseases).
  • If you report pneumonia as complicating pregnancy, assign code 648.9x (other current conditions classifiable elsewhere).

Changes to gyn codes


Before October 1, 2010, of the seven distinct types of uterine anomalies, only a didelphus uterus (752.2, doubling of the uterus) and a diethylstilbestrol-related anomaly (760.76 [noxious influences affecting fetus or newborn via placenta or breast milk; diethylstilbestrol (DES)]) had specific codes. All other uterine anomalies were coded to “other” or “unspecified” codes that could include many different conditions.

Although vaginal and cervical anomalies may be less common, the only codes available before October 1, 2010, were ones that described an unspecified anomaly (753.40), imperforate hymen (752.42), or an embryonic cyst (752.41).

Next Article: