News From the College

Honors Committee Accepting Nominations for Prestigious ACS Awards


The American College of Surgeons (ACS) Honors Committee is soliciting nominations for several prestigious awards and honors. These include the Distinguished Service Award; the Rodman E. and Thomas G. Sheen Award; the Jacobson Innovation Award; the Lifetime Achievement Award; candidates for Honorary Fellowship (from countries outside of the U.S. and Canada); and potential innovative speakers for the Martin Memorial Lecture, delivered at the Opening Ceremony of the annual ACS Clinical Congress.

Nominations are accepted all year long; however, Honorary Fellowship nominees are selected each October for induction at the following year’s Clinical Congress.

Visit the Honors Committee web page at for additional details about the criteria for nominations. Specific questions may be directed to Donna Coulombe, Honors Committee Staff Liaison, at or 312-202-5203.

Next Article: