News from the AGA

AGA leaders recognized for their contributions to the field


We are proud to announce the 2018 AGA Recognition Award recipients who are honored for their outstanding contributions to the field of gastroenterology and hepatology. The recipients will be formally recognized during Digestive Disease Week® (DDW) 2018 in Washington, D.C., but you can congratulate your colleagues now in the AGA Community.

2018 Recognition Award Recipients

Julius Friedenwald Medal

Loren A. Laine, MD

Distinguished Achievement Award in Basic Science

T. Jake Liang, MD, AGAF

William Beaumont Prize in Gastroenterology

Mary K. Estes, PhD, AGAF

Distinguished Educator Award

James D. Lewis, MD, MSCE, AGAF

Distinguished Clinician Award

Private Practice: Bertha (Nice’) E. Toriz, MD

Clinical Academic Practice: Michael L. Kochman, MD, AGAF

Distinguished Mentor Award

Mary K. Estes, PhD, AGAF

Young Investigator Awards

Clinical Science: David S. Goldberg, MD, MSCE

Basic Science: Andrew D. Rhim, MD

You can read more about each award recipient and the awards themselves at

Next Article: