News From the College

ACS Members in the news



Brooke M. Buckley, MD, FACS, emergency surgeon and medical director, Anne Arundel Medical Center, Acute Care Surgeons, Annapolis, MD, was recently elected 2015–2016 president of the Maryland State Medical Society (MedChi). Dr. Buckley served as co-chair of the MedChi legislative council, 2011−2013, and has been on the board of the MedChi political action committee since 2010.

Dr. Brooke Buckley

Luther F. Cobb, MD, FACS, was installed as the 147th president of the California Medical Association (CMA). Dr. Cobb has dedicated many years to the betterment of health care in California and formerly served as chair of the CMA Council on Legislation and president of the Humboldt-Del Norte County Medical Society. Over the course of the last year, he played a significant role in the successful campaign to defeat Proposition 46, with 67 percent of the California electorate voting against it. This proposal would have increased California’s $250,000 cap on noneconomic damage awards in medical liability lawsuits to $1.1 million.

Read Dr. Cobb’s president’s message in the January 14, 2015, issue of CMA News at

Dr. Luther Cobb

Alvin Crawford, MD, FACS, co-director of the Crawford Spine Center, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital, and professor emeritus at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, OH, has received a number of awards in recent months. He was among four individuals honored as 2014 Great Living Cincinnatians by the Cincinnati USA Regional Chamber. Since 1967, the Regional Chamber has honored more than 135 residents with the annual Great Living Cincinnatian Awards, based on such criteria as community service; business and civic attainment at a local, state, national, or international level; leadership; awareness of the needs of others; and distinctive accomplishments that have brought favorable attention to their community, institution, or organization. Dr. Crawford also received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America in 2014, its highest honor. In addition, he received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Scoliosis Research Society, the premier organization for spinal deformities. On February 12, the Cincinnati Business Courier honored Dr. Crawford with the 2015 Health Care Heroes Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Alvin Crawford

Brandon Snook, MD, FACS, Mike O’Callaghan Federal Medical Center, Las Vegas, NV, graduated as a categorical active duty resident in acute care surgery from the University Medical Center (UMC) of Southern Nevada, Las Vegas, the state’s only Level I trauma and burn center, in July 2013. He is part of a program called Sustained Medical and Readiness Trained, which helps medical officers stay current with the latest medical and surgical techniques used on the battlefield. In January, Lieutenant General Thomas W. Travis, MD, U.S. Air Force (USAF) Surgeon General, toured the UMC’s emergency department and formally announced the expansion of the medical center’s two-year training program, in partnership with the USAF and Nellis Air Force Base, NV. John Fildes, MD, FACS, department of surgery, University of Nevada School of Medicine, Las Vegas, and Past Medical Director of the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma, has been an active participant in the embedding of active duty residents into emergency medicine. As a result of this partnership, more USAF medical specialists from around the country will expand their acute care training at the UMC.

Next Article:

   Comments ()