News From the College

Ronald M. Stewart, MD, FACS, to head Committee on Trauma


The Board of Regents of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) recently appointed Ronald M. Stewart, MD, FACS, as the next Chair of the ACS Committee on Trauma (COT). Dr. Stewart is professor and chair of the department of surgery at the University of Texas (UT) Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Dr. Stewart will take office in March after the COT’s 2014 Annual Meeting, when he will become the 19th Chair of the committee, succeeding Michael F. Rotondo, MD, FACS, of Rochester, NY.

Dr. Ronald M. Stewart

"We congratulate Dr. Stewart and look forward to his leadership and direction as the COT enters its 92nd year of work to improve the care of injured patients," said Dr. Rotondo of the appointment.

Dr. Stewart received his medical degree and completed his surgical residency at from the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio. He completed a two-year trauma and surgical critical care fellowship at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis and then served as the director of trauma at University Hospital in San Antonio.

In May 2000, then Texas Gov. George W. Bush appointed Dr. Stewart to the Governor’s Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Advisory Council. He was the recipient of the 2013 National Safety Council Surgeon\'s Award for Service to Safety and the ACS Arthur Ellenberger Award for Excellence in State Advocacy.

Dr. Stewart also served as Chair of the South Texas Chapter of the ACS COT and later as the ACS COT Region 6 Chief (Texas, New Mexico, Louisiana, and Arkansas). In addition, he is the Southern Surgical Society’s representative to the ACS Board of Governors.

Next Article:

   Comments ()