News From the College

Nominate an Inspiring Woman for WiSC Award


The American College of Surgeons (ACS) Women in Surgery Committee (WiSC) is accepting nominations for the second annual Dr. Mary Edwards Walker Inspiring Women in Surgery Award, which will be presented at Clinical Congress 2017 in San Diego, CA. The award will be accorded in recognition of an individual’s significant contributions to the advancement of women in the field of surgery. Nominations are due April 30.

The award honors Dr. Mary Edwards Walker for the example she set for future generations as the first woman surgeon to serve as a U.S. Army physician and the only woman to ever receive the U.S. Armed Forces Medal of Honor for bravery.

Courtesy Library of Congress

Mary Edwards Walker

Nominees must have demonstrated a commitment to the advancement and inspiration of women in surgery and be members of the ACS, either in active practice or retired. WiSC members are ineligible for this award. The awardee is expected to attend Clinical Congress 2017 to accept the honor in person.

All nominations must be accompanied by the following documents:

• A letter of nomination outlining how the candidate has contributed to the advancement of women in the field of surgery

• An up-to-date curriculum vitae

Self-nominations are acceptable and should include a letter of reference. Nominations and questions should be submitted to Connie Bura at

Next Article:

   Comments ()