News From the College

New Regents, B/G Executive Committee Members Elected


Two new members of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Board of Regents (B/R) were elected at the October 19 Annual Business Meeting of Members: Anthony Atala, MD, FACS, and Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS. Dr. Atala is director, Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine, and W. Boyce Professor and Chair, department of urology, Wake Forest University, Winston Salem, NC. Dr. Michelassi is the Lewis Atterbury Stimson Professor and Chair, Weill Cornell Medical Center, and surgeon-in-chief, New York-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center, NY, and Immediate Past-Chair of the Board of Governors (B/G).

The 2016-2017 Chair of the B/R is Michael J. Zinner, MD, FACS, an ACS Regent since 2010 and founding chief executive officer and executive medical director, Miami Cancer Institute, Baptist Health South Florida, Coral Gables. The Vice-Chair is Leigh A. Neumayer, MD, MS, FACS, a Regent since 2009 and professor and chair, department of surgery, University of Arizona, and Margaret and Fenton Maynard Endowed Chair in Breast Cancer Research, University of Arizona College of Medicine, Tucson.

Replacing Dr. Michelassi as Chair of the B/G Executive Committee is Diana L. Farmer, MD, FACS, a pediatric surgeon, Pearl Stamps Stewart Professor of Surgery, and chair, department of surgery, University of California Davis Health System, Sacramento. Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS, a general surgeon and Henry and Sally Schaffer Chair and Professor, department of surgery, Albany Medical Center, NY, has been elected Vice-Chair; and Susan K. Mosier, MD, MBA, FACS, an ophthalmologist, Secretary, Kansas Department of Health and Environment, and State Health Officer for Kansas, Topeka, has been elected Secretary.

In addition, S. Rob Todd, MD, FACS, FCCM, was elected to serve an initial one-year term on the Executive Committee of the B/G. Dr. Todd is professor and chief, section of acute care surgery, department of surgery, and program director, surgical critical care residency, Baylor College of Medicine; and chief, general surgery, and director, Ginni and Richard Mithoff Trauma Center, Ben Taub Hospital, Houston, TX. Elected to an initial two-year term on the B/G Executive Committee was Nicole S. Gibran, MD, FACS, David and Nancy Auth-Washington Research Foundation Endowed Chair for Restorative Burn Surgery, professor, department of surgery, director, UW Medicine Regional Burn Center at Harborview Medical Center, and adjunct professor, department of medicine, division of dermatology, University of Washington, Seattle.

Next Article:

   Comments ()