News From the College

Drs. A. Brent Eastman, Michael Sinclair named UCSF Alumni of the Year



A. Brent Eastman, MD, FACS, a general, vascular, and trauma surgeon from San Diego, CA, and a Past-President of the American College of Surgeons, was one of two Fellows who received the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) Medical Alumni Association’s 2016 Alumni of the Year awards at the 50th reunion of the UCSF School of Medicine. Michael C. Sinclair, MD, FACS, Allentown, PA, a retired cardiothoracic surgeon, mountain climber, and author of a memoir, No Regrets, No Apologies, also was honored. Alumni Association president Yao Heng, MD, San Francisco, presented the awards to the two 1966 alumni at an April 9 dinner with UCSF Medical School dean Talmadge King, Jr., MD.

Dr. Eastman is a former corporate senior vice-president and chief medical officer of Scripps Health, N. Paul Whittier Endowed Chair of Trauma at Scripps Memorial Hospital, La Jolla, and clinical professor of surgery-trauma at the University of California, San Diego. He is a founder of the San Diego County Trauma System, which is now in its 32nd year and regarded worldwide as a model for trauma care.

Dr. Eastman’s efforts in trauma took him around the world. He was part of a team that cared for thousands of evacuees after Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans, LA, in 2005, and assisted earthquake victims in Haiti in 2010. He has assisted in the development of extensive trauma systems internationally, including throughout India. In addition, he was a visiting surgeon at the U.S. military hospital in Landstuhl, Germany, where he provided care to soldiers injured in the Iraq and Afghanistan wars.

Dr. Sinclair has volunteered for a number of international humanitarian missions in Croatia, Guatemala, Jordan, Pakistan, Libya, and Nigeria and is currently on a two-year tour to provide surgical care and training in Rwanda.

The Alumni of the Year award is regarded as the highest honor bestowed by the UCSF Medical Alumni Association. Each year, alumni from all classes nominate fellow classmates who have demonstrated dedication to the principles of a physician, made significant contributions to medicine, and provided community service.

Next Article:

   Comments ()