Movers in Medicine

ASTRO announces new president-elect, board members


The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) has elected a new president-elect and three new officers to its board of directors.

Dr. Laura Dawson, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre and University of Toronto

Dr. Laura Dawson

The incoming president-elect is Laura Dawson, MD, of Princess Margaret Cancer Centre and University of Toronto. Dr. Dawson is a professor and radiation oncologist specializing in gastrointestinal malignancies with a focus on hepatobiliary carcinoma and liver metastases, stereotactic body radiation therapy, image-guided radiation therapy, and normal tissue radiation toxicity.

Dr. Dawson will begin her term in September 2019 during ASTRO’s 61st annual meeting. She will serve a 1-year term as president-elect, a 1-year term as president, and a 1-year term as chair of the ASTRO board. During her tenure, Dr. Dawson plans to address issues such as physician burnout, restrictive prior authorization practices, and diversity in the workforce.

Neha Vapiwala, MD, is ASTRO’s new secretary/treasurer-elect. Dr. Vapiwala is an associate professor, vice-chair of education in the department of radiation oncology, and dean of admissions at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

Dr. Neha Vapiwala, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia

Dr. Neha Vapiwala

She specializes in the management of patients with genitourinary cancers, and her research is focused on improving the delivery of photon- and proton-based radiation.

Dr. Vapiwala will serve a 1-year term as ASTRO’s secretary/treasurer-elect followed by a 3-year term as secretary/treasurer. In these roles, she plans to address challenges in health care economics and assess the role of artificial intelligence and other new technologies in radiation oncology.

Constantine Mantz, MD, is ASTRO’s new Health Policy Council vice-chair. Dr. Mantz is chief policy officer and a radiation oncologist at 21st Century Oncology in Ft. Meyers, Fla.

Dr. Constantine Mantz, a radiation oncologist in Ft. Myers, Fla.

Dr. Constantine Mantz

He specializes in head and neck, prostate, breast, lung, and colorectal cancers.

Dr. Mantz will serve a 2-year term as vice-chair of the Health Policy Council followed by a 2-year term as chair. Dr. Mantz plans to address payment reform issues, including the implementation of an alternative payment model for radiation oncology.

Brian Marples, PhD, is ASTRO’s new Science Council vice-chair. Dr. Marples is a research professor and director of radiobiology in the department of radiation oncology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine. His research is focused on maximizing a tumor’s response to radiation while minimizing damage to normal tissue.

Dr. Brian Marples, University of Miami

Dr. Brian Marples

Dr. Marples will serve a 2-year term as vice-chair of the Science Council, followed by a 2-year term as chair. He plans to engage the medical community and the public in radiation oncology innovations, such as new technologies that combine radiation and immunotherapy.

Movers in Medicine highlights career moves and personal achievements by hematologists and oncologists. Did you switch jobs, take on a new role, climb a mountain? Tell us all about it at [email protected], and you could be featured in Movers in Medicine.

Next Article: