Movers in Medicine

Researchers win Stand Up To Cancer grants


Stand Up To Cancer has awarded 1- and 2-year grants to five teams conducting cancer research.

Dr. Alan D'Andrea

Alan D’Andrea, MD, of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston and Juan Cubillos-Ruiz, PhD, of Weill Cornell Medicine in New York won a 2-year grant totaling $250,000.

Dr. Juan Cubillos-Ruiz

Dr. Cubillos-Ruiz and Dr. D’Andrea will use this funding to evaluate gene signatures controlled by phospholipid messengers and endoplasmic reticulum stress in responding and nonresponding ovarian cancer patients, and the team will use tumor organoids to test whether pharmacological inhibition of these pathways can fight ovarian cancer.

Dr. Denada Dibra

Denada Dibra, PhD, of the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston and Peter Lee, MD, of City of Hope in Duarte, Calif., won a 1-year grant of $250,000.

Dr. Peter Lee

Dr. Lee and Dr. Dibra will use mouse models to study how TP53 may influence the tumor microenvironment in triple-negative breast cancer and to characterize tumor cells and immune cells in the tumor tissue.

Dr. Maximilian Diehn

Maximilian Diehn, MD, PhD, of Stanford (Calif.) University and Aaron Hata, MD, PhD, of Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center in Boston won a 2-year grant totaling $225,000.

Dr. Aaron Hata

Dr. Hata and Dr. Diehn will work on developing a novel method for analyzing cell-free RNA associated with resistance to tyrosine kinase inhibitors in patients with non–small cell lung cancer. The team’s goal is to develop a noninvasive approach to better characterize tumors and detect phenotypic changes during treatment.

Dr. Sarah Tasian

Sarah Tasian, MD, of Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and Kimberly Stegmaier, MD, of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute won a 2-year grant totaling $250,000, which was funded with support from the Emily Whitehead Foundation.

Dr. Kimberly Stegmaier

Dr. Stegmaier and Dr. Tasian will test chimeric antigen receptor T cells targeting two or more neoantigens in preclinical models of childhood Down syndrome–associated acute lymphoblastic leukemia and Ph-like acute lymphoblastic leukemia.

Dr. Robert H. Vonderheide

Robert Vonderheide, MD, of the University of Pennsylvania Abramson Cancer Center in Philadelphia and Vinod Balachandran, MD, of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York won a 2-year grant totaling $225,000.

Dr. Vinod Balachandran

Dr. Balachandran and Dr. Vonderheide will analyze short- and long-term pancreatic cancer survivors, patients with primary resected pancreatic cancers and patients with mKRAS lung and colon cancers to evaluate how mKRAS immunogenicity may affect outcomes.

Movers in Medicine highlights career moves and personal achievements by hematologists and oncologists. Did you switch jobs, take on a new role, climb a mountain? Tell us all about it at [email protected], and you could be featured in Movers in Medicine.

Next Article: