News from the AGA

The AGA Research Foundation awards $2.66 million in research funding


The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) is proud to announce the 71 recipients selected to receive research funding through its annual AGA Research Foundation Awards Program. The program serves as a catalyst for discovery and career growth among the most promising researchers in gastroenterology and hepatology.

“This year’s recipients are determined to make an impact on digestive health care through their research,” said Michael Camilleri, MD, AGAF, chair, AGA Research Foundation. “We are honored to support these talented individuals at a critical stage in their careers and research projects. We look forward to seeing their great accomplishments.”

AGA Institute

This year the AGA Research Foundation granted awards to 71 physicians and researchers.

Treatment options for digestive diseases begin with vigorous research. The AGA Research Foundation supports medical investigators as they advance our understanding of gastrointestinal and liver conditions. The AGA Research Awards Program is made possible thanks to generous donors and funders. Learn more about the AGA Research Foundation at

Here are this year’s award recipients:

Research Scholar Awards

AGA Research Scholar Award

Alexander Nguyen, MD, PhD, The Regent of the University of California, Los Angeles

Jeffrey W. Patterson-Fortin, MD, PhD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, Massachusetts

Sean Spencer, MD, PhD, Stanford Medicine, California

Ken Y. Hui, MD, PhD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland

AGA-Gastric Cancer Foundation Ben Feinstein Memorial Research Scholar Award in Gastric Cancer

Martina Molgora, PhD, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri

AGA-Takeda Pharmaceuticals Research Scholar Award in Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Brooke R. Druliner, PhD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota

Specialty Awards

AGA-Caroline Craig Augustyn & Damian Augustyn Award in Digestive Cancer

Simon Schwörer, PhD, University of Chicago, Illinois

AGA-R. Robert & Sally Funderburg Research Award in Gastric Cancer

Bryson W. Katona, MD, PhD, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, Philadelphia

AGA-Amgen Fellowship-to-Faculty Transition Award

Cynthia Hsu, MD, PhD, University of California, San Diego

AGA-Bristol Myers Squibb Fellowship-to-Faculty Transition Award

Siyan Cao, MD, PhD, Washington University in St. Louis

Amit Ringel, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts

Pilot Awards

AGA Pilot Research Award In Digestive Disease Health Disparities

Sharad Wadhwani, MD, MPH, University of California, San Francisco

AGA Pilot Research Award in Health Disparities

Enrique Soto Pérez de Celis, MD, PhD, MS, Instituto Nacional de Ciencias Médicas y Nutrición Salvador Zubirán

AGA Pilot Research Award

Diana L. Snyder, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota

Michael Li, MD, MPH, University of California, San Francisco

Patricia Bloom, MD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Edward Barnes, MD, MPH, University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Chapel Hill

AGA-Amgen Pilot Research Award In Digestive Disease Health Disparities

Laura Targownik, MD, MSHS, University of Toronto/Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, ON

Undergraduate Research Awards

AGA-Aman Armaan Ahmed Family Summer Undergraduate Research Award

Gwyneth Garramone, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, California

Ella McLaren, University of California, San Diego

Nathan Moy, University of Southern California, Los Angeles

Hussein Elfayoumy, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland

Isabelle Garcia-Fischer, Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts

Lidia Appell, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque

Katherine Burkman, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina

Alexa Boylan, Spelman College, Atlanta, Georgia

AGA-Dr. Harvey Young Education and Development Foundation’s Young Guts Scholar Program

Lucy Zhao, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research, Cambridge

Andrew Tran, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina

Sohaib Hassan, Rutgers University – Verzi Lab, New Brunswick, New Jersey

Varun Ponnusamy, University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor

Daniella Montalvo, University of Miami, Coral Gables, Florida

Sara Chough, Columbia University Irving Medical Center, New York, New York


Next Article:

American Gastroenterological Association invests in unsedated transnasal endoscopy medical device company EvoEndo®