News from the AGA

AGA Center for Gut Microbiome Research and Education scientific advisory board welcomes new members


Four leading experts in microbiome research have recently been appointed to the scientific advisory board of the AGA Center for Gut Microbiome Research and Education.

Robert A. Britton, PhD

Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas

Dr. Britton studies the role of microbes in health and diseases, with a focus on identifying microbes with therapeutic properties for a variety of disorders.

Suzanne Devkota, PhD

Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, California

Dr. Devkota investigates the role of diet in shaping the community of bacteria that live in our intestines (the “gut microbiome”).

Lita M. Proctor, PhD

National Human Genome Research Institute, Rockville, Maryland

Dr. Proctor is responsible for coordination of the Human Microbiome Project (HMP), an eight-year NIH Common Fund initiative to create a toolbox of resources for the emerging field of microbiome research.

Liping Zhao, PhD

Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey

Dr. Zhao studies the interactions between diet and gut microbiota in the onset and progression of chronic diseases such as obesity and diabetes.

AGA recognizes the outgoing members of the scientific advisory board who have made valuable contributions to the center’s work over their terms: Lee M. Kaplan, MD, PhD, AGAF, Zain Kassam, MD, MPH, and Ece Mutlu, MD, MBA, AGAF.

Next Article: