News From CHEST® Physician

Meet the CHEST President-Designate


Steven Q. Simpson, MD, FCCP, is a pulmonologist and intensivist with an extensive background in sepsis and in critical care quality improvement. Dr. Simpson acts as a CHEST Regent-at-Large of the Board of Regents, board liaison for the Guidelines Oversight Committee, sits on numerous board task forces and subcommittees and is a member of the CHEST SEEK Critical Care Medicine Editorial Board. He will serve as CHEST President for the 2020-2021 term.

Dr. Steven Q. Simpson

Dr. Simpson is Professor of Medicine in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at the University of Kansas. He is also senior advisor to the Solving Sepsis initiative of the Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority (BARDA) of the US Department of Health and Human Services. He has conducted research in all areas of severe sepsis, including molecular and cellular mechanisms, translational, quality improvement, and computer modeling studies. He was a founder in 2005 of the Midwest Critical Care Collaborative, a multidisciplinary and interprofessional collaborative effort to improve the quality of critical care services throughout the Midwest. In 2007, he initiated the Kansas Sepsis Project, a statewide program to improve severe sepsis care and outcomes via continuing education both in sepsis and in quality improvement principles and via interprofessional collaborations. Dr. Simpson is an author of the 2016 and 2020 updates of the Surviving Sepsis Campaign Guidelines. He is a member of the board of directors and Chief Medical Officer of Sepsis Alliance, a nationwide patient information and advocacy organization.

During his tenure at the University of New Mexico, he contributed to the discovery of a particular form of sepsis, the hantavirus pulmonary syndrome, and published numerous papers on the clinical description, the hemodynamic description, and the approach to supportive care for patients with the syndrome, including extracorporeal hemodynamic and oxygenation support. Dr. Simpson has authored over 180 scientific articles, book chapters, editorials, abstracts and electronic media publications. He was awarded the 2009 Eli Lilly Distinguished Scholar in Critical Care Medicine Award of the American College of Chest Physicians and the 2013 Roger C. Bone Memorial Lecture in Critical Care Medicine, which recognizes career contributions to the field. He has also been recognized as a Distinguished CHEST Educator in 2017 and 2018.

Next Article: