News From CHEST

Distinguished CHEST Educators


In keeping with the commitment of the American College of Chest Physicians (CHEST) to be the home of the clinician educator, and supporting CHEST’s strategic vision of advancing best patient outcomes through innovative chest medicine education, a new designation intended to provide national-level recognition of excellence in continuing medical education has been established—the innovation award-winning Distinguished CHEST Educator.

Distinguished CHEST Educators are within the top 5% of CHEST’s faculty and are recognized for their achievements in making significant and long-term contributions to the design and delivery of CHEST education. With more than 108 ways to educate, these faculty members have exceeded expectations by serving as CHEST committee chairs, vice-chairs, faculty, and peer reviewers for programs such as the CHEST Annual Meeting.

“The greatest achievement I can imagine is seen in the people we train—as that lives on. Real values in medicine live only by being handed down to others. Over the past decade, CHEST has afforded me the privilege to represent the organization on a national platform, and, in doing so, I have been able to refine my own skills and those of my peers, as well as adding both quality and detail to my understanding of how young physicians learn,” says Nader Kamangar, MD, FCCP, of UCLA, CHEST member since 2000, and Distinguished CHEST Educator.

This designation will be granted to select clinical educators each year. The inaugural class of Distinguished CHEST Educators was honored at the end of October at CHEST 2017 in Toronto, as will be the tradition for the classes that follow.

Distinguished CHEST Educator

Congratulations to the inaugural class of Distinguished CHEST Educators.

Sandra Adams, MD, MS, FCCP

Doreen Addrizzo-Harris, MD, FCCP

A. Christine Argento, MD, FCCP

Robert Arntfield, MD, FCCP

Anthony Asciutto, RRT

Olivier Axler, MD, PhD, FCCP

Meyer Balter, MD, FCCP

Gisela Banauch, MD, MS, FCCP

Robert Baughman, MD, FCCP

David Bell, MD, FCCP

Michel Boivin, MD, FCCP

Gabriel Bosslet, MD, FCCP

Jean Bourbeau, MD, MS, FCCP

David Bowton, MD, FCCP

Kevin Brown, MD, FCCP

Jack Buckley, MD, MPH, FCCP

Kristin Burkart, MD, MS, FCCP

Brian Carlin, MD, FCCP

Christopher Carroll, MD, FCCP

Roberto Casal, MD

Richard Castriotta, MD, FCCP

Kevin Chan, MD, FCCP

Alexander Chen, MD

Michael Christian, MD, FCCP

Nancy Collop, MD, FCCP

Clayton Cowl, MD, MS, FCCP

Angel Coz Yataco, MD, FCCP

Gerard Criner, MD, FCCP

Carolyn D’Ambrosio, MD, FCCP

Mauricio Danckers, MD, FCCP

Aneesa Das, MD, FCCP

John Davies, RRT, MA, FCCP

Frank Detterbeck, MD, FCCP

Emily Diederich, MD, FCCP

Kevin Doerschug, MD, MS, FCCP

Meagan Dubosky, RRT-ACCS

Kevin Dushay, MD, FCCP

Eric Edell, MD, FCCP

William Enfinger

Michael Ezzie, MD, FCCP

David Feller-Kopman, MD, FCCP

Kevin Felner, MD, FCCP

Neil Freedman, MD, FCCP

Thomas Fuhrman, MD, MS, FCCP

John Gaillard, MD, FCCP

Colin Gillespie, MD

Maritza Groth, MD, FCCP

Mark Hall, MD

Jesse Hall, MD, FCCP

Nicola Hanania, MD, MBBS, FCCP

D. Kyle Hogarth, MD, FCCP

Steven Hollenberg, MD, FCCP

Robert Hyzy, MD, FCCP

Richard Irwin, MD, Master FCCP

Nader Kamangar, MD, MS, FCCP

Carl Kaplan, MD, FCCP

Brian Kaufman, MD, FCCP

William Kelly, MD, FCCP

Seth Koenig, MD, FCCP

Anastassios Koumbourlis, MD, MPH, FCCP

Lindsey Kreisher, RRT

Karol Kremens, MD, FCCP

Sunita Kumar, MD, MBBS, FCCP

Viera Lakticova, MD

Carla Lamb, MD, FCCP

Hans Lee, MD, FCCP

Peter Lenz, MD, MEd, FCCP

Stephanie Levine, MD, FCCP

Deborah Levine, MD, MS, FCCP

Kenneth Lyn-Kew, MD

Joao Alberto de Andrade, MD, FCCP

Neil MacIntyre, MD, FCCP

Donald Mahler, MD, FCCP

Fabien Maldonado, MD, FCCP

Atul Malhotra, MD, FCCP

Haney Mallemat, MD

Darcy Marciniuk, MD, FCCP

Diego Maselli Caceres, MD, FCCP

Paul Mayo, MD, FCCP

Peter Mazzone, MD, MPH, FCCP

John McIlwaine, DO, MBA, FCCP

Mark Metersky, MD, FCCP

Scott Millington, MD

Taro Minami, MD, FCCP

Lisa Moores, MD, FCCP

Amy Morris, MD

John Mullon, MD, FCCP

Septimiu Murgu, MD, FCCP

Mangala Narasimhan, DO, FCCP

Michael Niederman, MD, FCCP

Alexander Niven, MD, FCCP

Anne O’Donnell, MD, FCCP

Erik Osborn, MD

David Ost, MD, MPH, FCCP

Ronald Oudiz, MD, FCCP

Daniel Ouellette, MD, MS, FCCP

Nicholas Pastis, MD, FCCP

Paru Patrawalla, MD, FCCP

Jay Peters, MD, FCCP

Barbara Phillips, MD, MSPH, FCCP

Margaret Pisani, MD, MS, FCCP

Janos Porszasz, MD, PhD

Whitney Prince, MD, FCCP

Suhail Raoof, MBBS, FCCP

Marcos Restrepo, MD, MSc, FCCP

Otis Rickman, DO, FCCP

Roy Ridgeway

Mary Ried, RN, CCRN

Antoni Rosell, MD

Mark Rosen, MD, Master FCCP

Bernard Roth, MD, FCCP

Anthony Saleh, MD, FCCP

Juan Sanchez, MD, FCCP

Pralay Sarkar, MBBS, FCCP

Lewis Satterwhite, MD, FCCP

Paul Scanlon, MD, FCCP

Gregory Schmidt, MD, FCCP

David Schulman, MD, MPH, FCCP

Brady Scott, RRT, MS

Bernardo Selim, MD, FCCP

Curtis Sessler, MD, FCCP

Rakesh Shah, MD, FCCP

Ray Wes Shepherd, MD, FCCP

John Sherner, MD, FCCP

Ariel Shiloh, MD

Samira Shojaee, MD, FCCP

Gerard Silvestri, MD, MS, FCCP

Steven Simpson, MD, FCCP

James Stoller, MD, MS, FCCP

Mary Strek, MD, FCCP

William Stringer, MD, FCCP

Eleanor Summerhill, MD, FCCP

Lynn Tanoue, MD, FCCP

Victor Test, MD, FCCP

Arthur Tokarczyk, MD, FCCP

Anil Vachani, MD, FCCP

Momen Wahidi, MD, MBA, FCCP

Keith Wille, MD, FCCP

Lisa Wolfe, MD, FCCP

Richard Wunderink, MD, FCCP

Lonny Yarmus, DO, FCCP

Kazuhiro Yasufuku, MD, PhD, FCCP

Gulrukh Zaidi, MD

Next Article: