News from the AGA

Use the AGA Clinical Guidelines app to participate in MACRA



In 2017, eligible clinicians can use the AGA Clinical Guidelines app — through attestation of its use — to meet your 2017 CMS Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) pick your pace requirements as one way to try to avoid a payment penalty in 2019. The AGA Clinical Guidelines app has also been proposed by CMS as a 2018 Improvement Activity under MIPS.

How do you attest for 2017?

First, search for and download the AGA Clinical Guidelines app via the Apple App Store or Google Play.

After actively using the AGA Clinical Guidelines app, you will be able, in the near future, to go to the CMS Enterprise Portal to attest that you have met the 2017 MIPS improvement activity participation requirement. AGA will let you know when the portal opens.

CMS lowered the cost performance category to 0% in the 2017 pick your pace year and gave clinicians three reporting options under MIPS.

  • Option one: Report to MIPS for a full 90-day period or full year on quality, improvement activities, and advancing care information, and maximize the chance to qualify for positive payment adjustments.
  • Option two: Report less than a year, but for the full 90-day period on one quality measure, more than one improvement activity, or more than the required measures in advancing care information to avoid penalties and receive a possible positive update.
  • Option three: Report one quality measure, one improvement activity, or report measures of advancing care information to avoid penalty.

Advanced Alternative Payment Models are another way to participate in MACRA in 2017.

What are improvement activities?

The MIPS pathway under the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA), uses quality and cost data to determine your payment, and replaces the previous framework that included the Medicare EHR Incentive Program, the Physician Quality Reporting System and the Value-Based Payment Modifier program. Physicians participating in MIPS will be scored on four categories:

  • Quality.
  • Advancing care information.
  • Improvement activities.
  • Cost.

The AGA Clinical Guidelines app is one way to satisfy participation in the improvement activities category.

Next Article: